• Announcements

• Rahul Ponginan

Please click here for a short but important announcement   03/26/17

Dear Users Our Commercial and Academic users around the world can use these same forums here as before i.e. the Altair Support Forum , Commercial users from India with solver queries can go to the Solver Forum for India Commercial Users , Academic Users from India and AOC India Participants are requested to go to the Forum for India Academic Users and AOC India Participants , We will be tending to all queries in all the forums promptly as before, thank you for your understanding. 
    • Rahul Ponginan

ユーザーフォーラムについて   10/22/17

アルテアエンジニアリングでは、弊社製品や技術について、ユーザー様同士がオンラインで情報交換できる場所を提供しています。 日常業務の中で起こるさまざまな問題の解決や、他ユーザー様との技術交流を図るための場として、お客様の環境に合わせてご活用ください。
Sign in to follow this  
Novak

Plot

Hello

I am a beginner at solidthinking COMPOSE. I just want to know how to plot the following function. I have written the code, but it shows the error.
Also, would be great if someone can show me the command for 3D plot

sigma_inf=100;
a=10;
r=10;
theta=[0:0:pi/2];
sigma_rr = @(theta)((sigma_inf/2)*(1-(a/r)^2))+(sigma_inf/2)*(1-4*(a/r)^2+3*(a/r)^4)*cos(2*theta);
sigma_theta =@(theta)((sigma_inf/2)*(1+(a/r)^2))-(sigma_inf/2)*(1+3*(a/r)^4)*cos(2*theta);

plot(theta,sigma_rr);

Thanks in advance

Hi Novak,

I have made some changes in the code and it works fine for me. The 3-D plot is attached with this reply. The updated code is given below. The errors you made is also mentioned here.

1) Syntax  theta=[0:0:pi/2]; is wrong

2) There is no need to mention @(theta) in Line no.5 and Line.no.6.

3) Use plot3 for obtaining 3-D plot.

Thanks

Sijo George

%%-----Updated Code

sigma_inf=100;
a=10;
r=10;
theta=[0:0.1:pi/2];
sigma_rr = (((sigma_inf/2)*(1-(a/r)^2))+(sigma_inf/2)*(1-4*(a/r)^2+3*(a/r)^4))*cos(2*theta);
sigma_theta =(((sigma_inf/2)*(1+(a/r)^2))-(sigma_inf/2)*(1+3*(a/r)^4))*cos(2*theta);
plot3(theta,sigma_rr,sigma_theta);

Figure 1.png

Thanks a lot george