Jump to content


Photo

Segmentation Fault in Starter


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 RJW

RJW

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 23 December 2008 - 05:02 AM

Hi,

I'm trying to benchmark a m/c with a Radioss model. I have run simple jobs on it OK but when I try to use more complex jobs the starter module fails with a segmentation fault. The model I have been given has run on other machines.

I have tried other, larger models (downloaded from the Altair website) and a similar thing happens only earlier in the data check process.

Has anyone had a similar experience?

Thanks

#2 hwsupport

hwsupport

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts

Posted 23 December 2008 - 10:07 AM

Hello RJW,

The issue is probably related to stacksize of the machine.

If you set stacksize to unlimited - the starter should run through with any segmentation issues.

If it's a linux machine, depending the shell this is how you set stacksize

in csh SHELL
to know all limits, type :
limit
To set the Stacksize to unlimited type :
unlimit stacksize



In ksh,bash,sh:

the command to know all limits is :
ulimit -a
to set the Stacksize to unlimited type:
ulimit -s unlimited

Hope this works

HWSUPPORT


#3 SeemannR

SeemannR

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 27 August 2013 - 03:29 AM

I would like to open this thread again, since I am having a similiar problem.

 

With one particular model of mine I keep getting a "segmentation violation" error

 

a section of the output file:

 

 +=============================================================+
 |     ABNORMAL END                                            |
 |          Segmentation Violation                             |
 |     TRACE BACK :                                            |
 +=============================================================+
 RADIOSS ENGINE                                                                                                                     
  SOLUTION PHASE: Processor=    1/    1                                                                                             
   MAIN LOOP: Cycle=    0                                                                                                           
    SORTIES L00 ANIM TH                                                                                                             
 +=============================================================+
 
 
 
     ERROR TERMINATION

 

The error almost seems to occur randomly, however only with one particular model so far.

Sometimes the solver runs, but mostly it doesnt.

 

Since I use windows I have done the settings as suggeted by the radioss user guide. (KMP_STACKSIZE = 64m).

However it doesnt seem to help.

 

Is there anything else I could do to fix this?

 

regards

Ralf



#4 SeemannR

SeemannR

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 11 September 2013 - 07:00 AM

Now, keep having this problem when I try to run a HyperStudy analysis. 

 

When I run the model file just by itself with radioss it works. However, if I want to do the nominal run in HyperStudy I get the same segmentation violation error.

 

What could it be?



#5 hexagon

hexagon

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 120 posts

Posted 27 September 2013 - 12:16 PM

Hi,

 

Have you tried dos2unix conversion? Maybe it could help. I was experincing a problem like that and dos2unix conversion helped me alot.

Another thing is keep your solver executables and c/c+ libraries up to date.



#6 caner.kara

caner.kara

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 04 October 2013 - 06:28 AM

Hi

 

I am trying to solve an explicit problem with Radioss and having similar problem. When it comes to "GROUPS" it gives this error and terminates the job. Any advice?

 

 

 

+=============================================================+
 |     ABNORMAL END                                            |
 |          Segmentation Violation                             |
 |     TRACE BACK :                                            |
 +=============================================================+
   GROUPS                                                                                                                                             
 +=============================================================+
 
ERROR id : 760
** ERROR TRAPPED
 
 
 
 Starter STOPPED due to INPUT ERROR



#7 mayuratale

mayuratale

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 08 April 2015 - 09:26 AM

Hi All,

 

Is there any way how to identify cause of segmentation violation error. I'm trying to run an analysis, which is similar to my previous work.

 

Also any possible causes for this error would be appreciated....



#8 sabirli

sabirli

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • CountryTurkey
  • Are you University user?:Yes

Posted 08 April 2015 - 01:15 PM

Hi,

 

I faced this error and then I transferred mirrored elements to original components and remove empty components. Problem is finished, model is solved witout any error.. If you made some mirror operation in your model, maybe it depends on that...



#9 Rahul R

Rahul R

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 251 posts
  • CountryIndia
  • Are you University user?:Yes

Posted 09 April 2015 - 04:44 AM

Hi,

what is your material and property? do you use /QUAD or /SHELL elements? /QUAD s are applicable only for 2D problems.

Regards

Rahul R






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users